by Lional Bart
produced by Malcolm Bates


Notes from the programme:  Charles Dickens' story, Oliver Twist, first appeared 130 years ago, in a series of monthly instalments in "Bentley's Miscellany" and since then, successive generations have read the story.  Lionel Bart introduced this musical version of Oliver's story on the stage of the New Theatre, London in June 1960.



Oliver Jonathan Kitching
Mr Bumble, the Beadle Douglas Clark
Mrs Corney, the Matron Freda Horton
Old Sally Ann Harris
Old Annie Joyce Westman
Mr Sowerberry Douglas Ballard
Mrs Sowerberry Madge Smith
Charlotte Bridget Irish
Noah Claypole Philip Brown
The Artful Dodger Dale Robinson
Fagin Roy Broadbent
Nancy Myra Bierlein
Bet Carole Hill
Bill Sykes John Harris
Charley Richard Spalding
Mr Brownlow Don Sutherland
Dr Grimwig Ron Westman
Mrs Bedwin Ruth Greitschus
Rose Sellers Anita Bierlein, Jennifer Greitschus & Ruth Kitching
Milkmaid Ann Harris
Strawberry Seller Freda Horton
Knife Grinders Jane Makin & Helen Sutherland
Bow Street Runner Adrian Ewington
Landlord of the "Three Cripples" Karl Bierlein
Workhouse Boys and Fagin's gang Billy Crymble, John Roate, Adrian Ewington, Donald Westman and Ian Jones
Londoners, Paupers etc Olive Boles, Jill Jones, Gwenda Booth, Elaine Picksley, Helen Harvey, Noelle Ranby, Willie Johnson and Joyce Westman


Oliver!   Myra Bierlein as Nancy in Oliver!   Roy Broadbent as Fagin in Oliver
The Chorus (left), Myra Bierlein as Nancy (centre) and Roy Broadbent as Fagin (right)
thanks to Myra Bierlein for the photos



Musical Director: Nancy Jones

Violins Joan Lewis, Sara Witney, L Barker, J Boyd, Albert Elwick and David Potts
Cello Emma Witney
Double Bass Geoffrey Sentence
Flute Joe Sentence
Clarinet Pamela Barber
Timpani Thomas Morgan
Piano Betty Proctor



Wardrobe Dee Broadbent
Set Design & Construction Malcolm Bates
Stage Managers Harry Hartley, David Holehouse, Morris Rollinson
Properties Sara Paton
Lighting G Mostyn Lewis, S T Langford & Tim Thornally
House Managers J & M Kitching



Thanks to: Mr JW Bates, Mr JJ Rainthorpe, Rev FE Stalley, Mr G Mostyn Lewis, Mr and Mrs ST Langford, Mr Peter Robinson, Mrs R Walshaw, Ms K Beirlein, Market Rasen Girl Guides and St John Ambulance for various services to the production.